skip to main content
About the ELPAC

About the ELPAC


The English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC) is the successor to the California English Language Development Test (CELDT). Beginning in 2017–18, the ELPAC is the required state test for English language proficiency (ELP) that must be given to students whose primary language is a language other than English. The California Department of Education (CDE) expects to be fully transitioned from the CELDT to the ELPAC as the state's assessment of ELP by 2018–19.
State and federal law require that local educational agencies administer a state test of ELP to eligible students in kindergarten (or year one of a two-year kindergarten program, sometimes referred to as “transitional kindergarten”) through grade twelve (ages 3-21). The ELPAC is aligned with California’s 2012 English Language Development Standards , and is comprised of two separate ELP assessments:
  • Initial ELPAC—an initial identification of students as English learners
  • Summative ELPAC—an annual summative assessment to measure an English learner's progress in learning English and to identify the student's ELP level
ELPAC Administration

ELPAC Administration

Initial ELPAC

  • The Initial ELPAC administration window is July 1–June 30.
  • See the  quick reference guide for instructions on the process that begins upon a student's first enrollment in a California public school.

Summative ELPAC

  • The Summative ELPAC administration window is February 1–May 31.
Information about the Initial and Summative ELAPC is available on the Test Administration web page.